Page 1 of 1

LOL programming question.

Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 4:20 pm
by tinman47
Is it true you can make games out of MS-DOS Batch???

If so,how?

Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 5:03 am
by dosraider
How ?
For starters, BUY A NEW KEYBOARD, one without caps or shift key , especially for you.
A topic title as PROGRAMMING QUESTION!!! is shouting at people, so if you want answers learn typing.

And I don't care that you're a 13 year young puber with acne, if you shout in my face you can solve your problems by yourself.

Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 11:09 am
by tinman47
:blah: ................K.

Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 12:35 pm
by 486 player
By command 'choice', but without savin'.

Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 1:04 pm
by Dogbreath
It's theoretically possible, but it'd be a pretty sucky game. Not very efficient, either. If you're looking for an easy "starter" language, you're better off going with Q-BASIC. (Heh heh)

You might want to try a Game Creation System instead, so you can focus on honing your actual programming and game design skills without having to build your own game engine.

Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 10:49 pm
by Swiftcutter
When I was in high school, I wrote a simple "game" in batch using the aforementioned CHOICE command. It was basically a "choose your own adventure" story. I believe the current version of batch code in XP's console has more commands available, so you may be able to do something more complex with it.

Posted: Sat May 05, 2007 12:18 pm
by tinman47
Problem though,XP has 5.1 MS-DOS,it doesn't have choice.

Posted: Sat May 05, 2007 12:45 pm
by dosraider
Dosbox has the CHOICE command.

Try once to input help or even better help /all at the dosbox prompt. ;)

Posted: Sat May 05, 2007 2:03 pm
by wardrich
tinman47 wrote:Problem though,XP has 5.1 MS-DOS,it doesn't have choice.
There are ways around it... here's how I did it in my batch script:

Code: Select all

set choice=
set /p choice=Pick a number.
if not '%choice%'=='' set choice=%choice:~0,1%
if '%choice%'=='1' goto LUCIDA
if '%choice%'=='2' goto LINEDRAW
if '%choice%'=='3' goto OTHER
ECHO "%choice%" is not valid please try again 

Posted: Sat May 05, 2007 8:25 pm
by franpa
uh, XP doesnt have DOS 5.1 because that is the version of winXP, you are not running the DOS included with winXP, you are running the shitty command prompt they include alongside the DOS that comes with winXP.

go to run and type each and after typing one push enter.

CMD
COMMAND

Image

Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:14 pm
by tinman47
Hey...Franpa and Wardrich game me an Idea!

HEHEHE...

Perfect... :devil:

Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:42 pm
by abyss
Why do people say command prompt is lousy. It's just as good as real dos. msdos and command prompt don't emulate hardware their just dos command line perimeters. command prompt is great. The easiest to use language is gw basic.

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:08 am
by 486 player
It doesn't have all DOS commands.

Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:00 pm
by redshock
I'm going after a computer science major, so I figured I would share some light on this subject. Since we're at a DOS games site, I'll talk about DOS game programming. First, you need to know the programming language C. Not C++, it's way too overhead for DOS and was barely used. You can program straight in DOSBox using Turbo C (the compiler). Next I would suggest picking up Tricks of the Game Programming Gurus by Andre' LaMothe. You will be making games in no time. But take your time and don't skip over any of these steps.