LOL programming question.
LOL programming question.
Is it true you can make games out of MS-DOS Batch???
If so,how?
If so,how?
Last edited by tinman47 on Mon Sep 24, 2007 9:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
How ?
For starters, BUY A NEW KEYBOARD, one without caps or shift key , especially for you.
A topic title as PROGRAMMING QUESTION!!! is shouting at people, so if you want answers learn typing.
And I don't care that you're a 13 year young puber with acne, if you shout in my face you can solve your problems by yourself.
For starters, BUY A NEW KEYBOARD, one without caps or shift key , especially for you.
A topic title as PROGRAMMING QUESTION!!! is shouting at people, so if you want answers learn typing.
And I don't care that you're a 13 year young puber with acne, if you shout in my face you can solve your problems by yourself.
- 486 player
- Gaming Demi-god
- Posts: 1222
- Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2002 6:32 am
- Location: Europe
- Dogbreath
- Admin
- Posts: 4620
- Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 7:02 pm
- Location: In the back of a jacked-up Ford.
It's theoretically possible, but it'd be a pretty sucky game. Not very efficient, either. If you're looking for an easy "starter" language, you're better off going with Q-BASIC. (Heh heh)
You might want to try a Game Creation System instead, so you can focus on honing your actual programming and game design skills without having to build your own game engine.
You might want to try a Game Creation System instead, so you can focus on honing your actual programming and game design skills without having to build your own game engine.
- Swiftcutter
- Expert
- Posts: 151
- Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 7:49 am
When I was in high school, I wrote a simple "game" in batch using the aforementioned CHOICE command. It was basically a "choose your own adventure" story. I believe the current version of batch code in XP's console has more commands available, so you may be able to do something more complex with it.
There are ways around it... here's how I did it in my batch script:tinman47 wrote:Problem though,XP has 5.1 MS-DOS,it doesn't have choice.
Code: Select all
set choice=
set /p choice=Pick a number.
if not '%choice%'=='' set choice=%choice:~0,1%
if '%choice%'=='1' goto LUCIDA
if '%choice%'=='2' goto LINEDRAW
if '%choice%'=='3' goto OTHER
ECHO "%choice%" is not valid please try again
uh, XP doesnt have DOS 5.1 because that is the version of winXP, you are not running the DOS included with winXP, you are running the shitty command prompt they include alongside the DOS that comes with winXP.
go to run and type each and after typing one push enter.
CMD
COMMAND
go to run and type each and after typing one push enter.
CMD
COMMAND
Intel Core2 DUO e6750 @ 2.66GHZ
Asus P5KC Mother Board
Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
2 Gigabytes DDR2 800 RAM Dual Channel
500 Gigabytes SATA2 Hard Disk
Creative X-FI Extreme Music
BFG Geforce 8800gt 512mb PCI-E (OC1)
Thermaltake 750watt Toughpower Power Supply
Thermaltake Armor+ MX Case.
Click here to download 'Milo The Fuel Run'. [More Information.]
Asus P5KC Mother Board
Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
2 Gigabytes DDR2 800 RAM Dual Channel
500 Gigabytes SATA2 Hard Disk
Creative X-FI Extreme Music
BFG Geforce 8800gt 512mb PCI-E (OC1)
Thermaltake 750watt Toughpower Power Supply
Thermaltake Armor+ MX Case.
Click here to download 'Milo The Fuel Run'. [More Information.]
- 486 player
- Gaming Demi-god
- Posts: 1222
- Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2002 6:32 am
- Location: Europe
I'm going after a computer science major, so I figured I would share some light on this subject. Since we're at a DOS games site, I'll talk about DOS game programming. First, you need to know the programming language C. Not C++, it's way too overhead for DOS and was barely used. You can program straight in DOSBox using Turbo C (the compiler). Next I would suggest picking up Tricks of the Game Programming Gurus by Andre' LaMothe. You will be making games in no time. But take your time and don't skip over any of these steps.