Im Making An Interpreter,Need Some Help.
Im Making An Interpreter,Need Some Help.
Im Making An Interpreter Out Of Raw Batch Code,And Its Working Very Well,But Im Having A Few Problems.
1.How Do I Make Syntax Highlighting Out Of Batch?
2.How Do I Make A Variable That Does Not Require Putting The % On Each Side Of It.
3.How Do I Display An Image Out Of Batch?
4.How Do I Play A Sound Out Of Bacth?
5.How Do You Perform Arithmetic Out Of Batch Without It Displaying An Error Message?
6.Can You Make DLL Files Out Of Batch,If So,Can You Call It In A Batch Script?
Reply If You Guys Know,And Show The Code.Thank You. [/code]
1.How Do I Make Syntax Highlighting Out Of Batch?
2.How Do I Make A Variable That Does Not Require Putting The % On Each Side Of It.
3.How Do I Display An Image Out Of Batch?
4.How Do I Play A Sound Out Of Bacth?
5.How Do You Perform Arithmetic Out Of Batch Without It Displaying An Error Message?
6.Can You Make DLL Files Out Of Batch,If So,Can You Call It In A Batch Script?
Reply If You Guys Know,And Show The Code.Thank You. [/code]
Re: Im Making An Interpreter,Need Some Help.
tinman47 wrote:5.How Do You Perform Arithmetic Out Of Batch Without It Displaying An Error Message?
Code: Select all
set /a value=4+7*2 > NUL:
echo Result is %value%
DOSBox ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Shuttle SN41G2 | Athlon XP 2600+ | IGP@128 MB | NEC 3520A DVD | Win XP Home/SP2
_________________
Shuttle SN41G2 | Athlon XP 2600+ | IGP@128 MB | NEC 3520A DVD | Win XP Home/SP2
Okay, this is just a style thing, but could you please not put capital letters on every word? It makes your posts difficult to read. Thanks!
Re your questions ...
#1 Depends what program you're using to edit your code. You can use TextPad or WordPad+ to do syntax hilighting.
#2 Dunno if that's possible.
#3 & #4 You can't do that using batch language alone. You'd need to use an additional DOS program to do that. So you'd have to find a command-line based DOS application that plays sound or shows images, then run it from your batch file.
#6 I really don't think so.
Re your questions ...
#1 Depends what program you're using to edit your code. You can use TextPad or WordPad+ to do syntax hilighting.
#2 Dunno if that's possible.
#3 & #4 You can't do that using batch language alone. You'd need to use an additional DOS program to do that. So you'd have to find a command-line based DOS application that plays sound or shows images, then run it from your batch file.
#6 I really don't think so.
Owner / Webmaster of DOSGames.com for over 20 years
Download my free ebook: The Historical Reliability of the New Testament
Download my free ebook: The Historical Reliability of the New Testament
Hey Mimzee,Batch can do anything and you don't even realize it.What the hell do you think made Qbasic and all the other BASIC languages.My interpreter is actually working,so dont post me shit like "Oh tinman,you can't do it,its not expansive enough,Oh its impossible,No,No,you should learn another language!"
Shutup!!!!I am almost done with it and people are starting to doubt me,some people are actually tring to get my source code,well guess what?Batch is awesome!!! Batch is what made Python,Batch made so much.I have been studying Batch for a full Year now,and its getting better every day.Im happy,but others are not.The interpreter is actually working,so don't post me that crap,just post the answer to my questions.I'll release the source code next year. :Angry:
Shutup!!!!I am almost done with it and people are starting to doubt me,some people are actually tring to get my source code,well guess what?Batch is awesome!!! Batch is what made Python,Batch made so much.I have been studying Batch for a full Year now,and its getting better every day.Im happy,but others are not.The interpreter is actually working,so don't post me that crap,just post the answer to my questions.I'll release the source code next year. :Angry:
- Larry Laffer
- Admin
- Posts: 4143
- Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:06 am
- Location: Romania
Huh? Now, what got you fired up like that? Everybody, until now, was polite and answered your questions, you have no right to flame... er? emmzee, or er... MiniMax?
Also, just to make things clear, are we talking about the batch that creates batch files?
Because, if that's so, really, you have to understand that it's limited!
Also, just to make things clear, are we talking about the batch that creates batch files?
Because, if that's so, really, you have to understand that it's limited!
<center>
ModBot™ - Faster than the speed of spam!(and always taking it to where it belongs!)
</center>abyss wrote:I don't even know if starcraft 1 was a windows or dos games.
ModBot™ - Faster than the speed of spam!(and always taking it to where it belongs!)
No need to get so riled up, tinman. BTW, who's "Mimzee"?
Anywho, maybe the problem is that we're using the same term ("batch") to refer to different things. When I say "batch" I'm referring to MS-DOS batch files, like this:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Batch_files
If you are referring instead to <i>assembly language</i> (aka assembler, aka machine code) like this:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Assembly_language
... then that's something entirely different. QBasic and other BASIC languages certainly would have been coded in assembly language (or perhaps in C or something) but not MS-DOS batch files; these are totally different things.
Anywho, maybe the problem is that we're using the same term ("batch") to refer to different things. When I say "batch" I'm referring to MS-DOS batch files, like this:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Batch_files
If you are referring instead to <i>assembly language</i> (aka assembler, aka machine code) like this:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Assembly_language
... then that's something entirely different. QBasic and other BASIC languages certainly would have been coded in assembly language (or perhaps in C or something) but not MS-DOS batch files; these are totally different things.
Owner / Webmaster of DOSGames.com for over 20 years
Download my free ebook: The Historical Reliability of the New Testament
Download my free ebook: The Historical Reliability of the New Testament
I'm wondering if tinman47 isn't talking about somekind of converter that he is creating. You know, batch to *.exe or *.com converting.
Sounds as it.
If that's the case, it has been developed long time ago in many variations.
Several professional and freeware programs do such, so no need to getting excited about it.
Sounds as it.
If that's the case, it has been developed long time ago in many variations.
Several professional and freeware programs do such, so no need to getting excited about it.
Sorry about the overeaction I made,I was in a very bad mood that day,and I use profanity all the time.(BECAUSE IM 13 )
Really sorry Mimzee(I like to call people with in EM in their name
a MIM )I didnt mean to explode on you like that.IM SORRY.
But anyways,the interpreter Im making is mostly MS-DOS code.
The other parts of it are Qbasic and raw Assembly.But Im probably
going to postpone the project since Im having problems with the
FASM Assembler. And NO its not no fucking converter,thats
too boring and a waste of time to make.SO JUST GIVING
YOU A NOTICE MIMZEE.
TRUST ME,MS-DOS MADE QBASIC...I LOOKED AT THE SOURCE CODE!
Really sorry Mimzee(I like to call people with in EM in their name
a MIM )I didnt mean to explode on you like that.IM SORRY.
But anyways,the interpreter Im making is mostly MS-DOS code.
The other parts of it are Qbasic and raw Assembly.But Im probably
going to postpone the project since Im having problems with the
FASM Assembler. And NO its not no fucking converter,thats
too boring and a waste of time to make.SO JUST GIVING
YOU A NOTICE MIMZEE.
TRUST ME,MS-DOS MADE QBASIC...I LOOKED AT THE SOURCE CODE!
- Larry Laffer
- Admin
- Posts: 4143
- Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:06 am
- Location: Romania
Maybe he means a DOS programming language such as Borland C++...MaryBeth wrote:I thought MS-DOS was an operating system,
could you give me an example of DOS "code"?
/me shrugs
<center>
ModBot™ - Faster than the speed of spam!(and always taking it to where it belongs!)
</center>abyss wrote:I don't even know if starcraft 1 was a windows or dos games.
ModBot™ - Faster than the speed of spam!(and always taking it to where it belongs!)
I think a Babel-fish would be in order here.
DOSBox ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Shuttle SN41G2 | Athlon XP 2600+ | IGP@128 MB | NEC 3520A DVD | Win XP Home/SP2
_________________
Shuttle SN41G2 | Athlon XP 2600+ | IGP@128 MB | NEC 3520A DVD | Win XP Home/SP2
- Dogbreath
- Admin
- Posts: 4620
- Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 7:02 pm
- Location: In the back of a jacked-up Ford.
Now that's sig worthy...tinman47 wrote:TRUST ME,MS-DOS MADE QBASIC...I LOOKED AT THE SOURCE CODE!
Locked, btw. If you honestly still need help with your project you can start another thread in the future, but it'll probably get locked pretty quickly if continue to carry on so rudely. (DON'T "SHOUT" AT PEOPLE PLEASE!!!!!)
And, as MiniMax said, there are plenty of excellent translation services around... don't really see why you need to make your own.